top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureExploradora

72 Hours in Portugal ~ Porto and Lisbon

Updated: May 19, 2020

24 hours in Porto, can you do it? Depending on the type of traveler you are, I'd say you are definitely able to visit Porto for one day. Between the two cities I visited, Porto took my heart by a storm. Its weather, views, wine, and ambiance is by far one of the best I’ve seen. Here’s my version of 24 hours in Porto.


DAY 1- Arrival

Our flight arrived in the afternoon and we booked an Air BnB that was near the city center. Cristiana, our host was super helpful in giving us advice on where to see and what to eat.

We decided to have a linner (lunch-dinner) type at Cafe Almada. The food was delicious. The restaurant was small and super affordable. For two entrees and one bottled water, the total came out to 9 euros. I had the Francesinha, a traditional dish in Porto. It's a Portuguese sandwich made with ham, sausage, steak, and is covered in melted cheese, tomato sauce, and beer sauce. It is a must-try if you go to Porto.

Torres de los Clérigos

After, we walked to Torres de Colegio, which took 10 minutes. This structure is set in the middle of the Historic center of the town. For five euros (cash only) you can climb up the tower and get a gorgeous view of the city. There are also informational boards on top that show you different towers at different heights.


We proceeded to see the Riberia neighborhood and the Ponte Luís I. This bridge is walkable and allows you to cross to the famous Wine Ports Area. But even if you don’t want to take a wine cellar tour, I’d recommend walking just to see the view. It is not one to miss. We crossed the bridge at the bottom to get across but took the higher up level on the way back. I’m terrified of heights and was able to cross so you would too. Also, the view is just to die for. When you’re on the Port side, make sure to make the short hike up to Monastery of Serra do Pilar. If you are able to do this at night when the sunsets, do it. It was one of the most gorgeous views I have ever seen in my life.

Views from Monastery of Serra do Pilar.

The Portside is calmer than the Riberia neighborhood so we decided to go back there for dinner. We stopped by a nice restaurant where I tried their 10 year old Tawny, it was super sweet and very strong. We stopped by a pizzeria and had ourselves a Margherita pizza and a jug of sangria. This was a lot more bubbly than the Sangria in Madrid but it was still delicious. Many restaurants have the jug of sangria with different types of wine. Depending on pricing and how much you want to pay, you can choose which one you want. The range usually is from 10 to 20 euros.


On our way home, we passed by this ice cream store called Santina. It was a delicious ice cream shop that has been around since 1949. I got the passion fruit and chocolate chip flavors in a small-sized cup (3.20 euros) and it was delicious. Our first day was a fun-filled time and I absolutely fell in love with Porto. For tomorrow, we have a bus to go to Lisbon and I can honestly say 24 hours in Porto is doable. If you want to go try some Port wine, I recommend researching and booking in advance. Because we didn't, all the times were booked and we couldn't go on some of the famous wine cellar tours. If you are not interested in the wine cellar tours, you can have some at their restaurants as well.


DAY 2

We began our morning by walking to Jardins de Palacio de Cristal (The Cristal Palace). This is similar to Madrid's Retiro Park or Central Park in New York. It is a gorgeous park where you can walk around and relax to enjoy the view. On the way to the park, we stopped by a small pastry shop where I purchased a nata and chocolate pastry. Both yummy. We ended our Porto adventure by eating at Cafeteria Cubo alongside the Duomo river. I ordered the Port Experience which included 4 different wines accompanied by some cheese, olives, and almonds. A beautiful view and some Port wine 🍷 was such a good experience.

Using Flix Bus, we took a 4-hour bus ride to Lisbon. Our Airbnb was located in Caprica which is about a 20-minute drive to Lisbon. We went out to Barrio Alto that night where all the nightlife is located. It was a bit overwhelming but fun. The streets are filled with people, promoters, and vendors selling food. We stopped by Copacabana bar and Music Box, a small club. It was an early night so when we came back to Caprica and went to visit the beach. It is a very famous location for locals to visit. If you come during the summer season, you will see many locals. At night, it is a very calm and fun beach with bars lined up to hang out at.

DAY 3- Lisboa


This is my 24 hours in Lisbon. I began taking the bus from Caprica to Lisbon which took 40 minutes. Took the TST that took me to Northern Lisbon and from there, I purchased the 24-hour daily card (6.90) which allows you to take the trolley, tram, and metro. I began the day by visiting the Castillo de San Jorge. A gorgeous castle with a lot of history. For 5 euros, you can climb up the towers and see the gorgeous views of Lisbon. I decided to go see Bélem and took a trolley from the castle to Rossio Plaza.

I took the metro and transferred to a bus (15E) to get to Bélem. Bélem was amazing and my favorite part of Lisbon. It is a small area but the architecture and environment were thrilling. Walking to the Bélem Tower in its small roads, it gave me a small-town vibe. I loved walking around for a couple of hours on my own. It was so safe. The 15E stopped at the Jerónimos Monastery which brings you to the center of the city. From there, you can see the botanical gardens. I walked to the Tower of Bélem which took 12 minutes. You must cross a bridge to get across but trust me it’s so worth it. The towers are gorgeous and if you time, definitely climb up for a view. Before heading back, I stopped by the famous Pasteis de Bélem, famous for it Portugal's special pastry- Natas. They always have lines out the door and I can promise you it’s for a good reason. They are so delicious. The decadent taste and form made my stomach so happy. Getting back to Lisbon, I stopped to see the Lisbon Cathedral which was gorgeous.

Praça do Comércio

Before getting back to Madrid, we took a quick stop to see the Praça do Comércio where the famous arch is located. The gorgeous architecture and famous four quadrants to create a plaza are seen. Nearby you can also go shopping for some souvenirs to take home. Taxis in Lisbon don’t take cash, so remember to bring cash. Luckily I had my friend meeting me at the Garagem Lisboa station so everything worked out. Abrigado Portugal. Until next time!!


Have you visited Portugal? What was your favorite place to visit? What other cities or sights do you recommend seeing?


 
17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Segovia

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page