top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureExploradora

I'm!! Terrified!! Of!! Heights!!

Updated: Jun 20, 2020

Skydiving has always been on my bucket list. I never thought I'd do it in Europe but I am so happy it was. It was an investment that was also such an incredible experience. I'd do it over again in a heartbeat. Skydive Spain is located in the city next to Sevilla, Bollulos de la Mitacion.

How to Get There

The bus ride from Madrid to Sevilla is six hours and I decided to take the "red eye" bus style so I'd arrive bright and early. By taking public transportation, I'd arrive at Skydive Spain on time. Unfortunately, the day that I was in Sevilla was a holiday (dia de los muertos) which meant a modified bus schedule but usually you can take the M-159 which would take you to Bollullos de la Mitacion. From there you can take a cab or walk if you are interested!

Before the Jump

The whole experience was super quick. If you print out the forms before hand and fill it out (which is what I did) it goes even quicker. After handing in my forms and completing final payment, I went inside and watched a video on what this experience would be like. The instructor taught me how to land safely and what my position should be the time I am on air. They are very professional there and the staff that helped me were obviously experienced.


After signing off on a safety form and confirmation that I watched the video, I was given skydive suit and met with the man that would accompany me on the dive. He (I didn't catch his name :( awful of me) was the sweetest person and assisted me on putting on my gear. Because I ordered the Go-Pro package (be sure to add the video+photos to your experience, literally once in a lifetime pictures) so he recorded a little intro. I was lucky and the video/photos turned out great.


The EXPERIENCE

I didn't really feel the anticipation or fear that comes with the experience until the moment my instructor jumped off the plane. During the instruction video, we were taught to tuck our legs back but when we stood up on the plane, my body and legs were resisting. This is probably human instinct. My instructor used a little bit of forced, tucked my legs back and together we flew off the plane. The adrenaline and feeling when you first jump off the plane is indescribable. I didn't feel like I was thinking or breathing. I screamed at first because of the falling feeling and tough atmosphere around me. I thought I was falling but then my instructor tapped my shoulder and then that fear turned into a positive energy. I was soaring! When Gabriella and Troy in High School Musical sang, "We're soaring, flying," I felt those words. I couldn't believe that I was so high up in the sky. I was one with the clouds and I could feel it on me. It was such an insane moment. This SkyDive Spain site is the highest in Europe,15,000 feet. After about 60 seconds of free fall and looking at the scenery around me, my instructor popped up the parachute and we were floating around in the site's vicinity. Everything was beautiful and the air felt so clean. All the worries, problems or anything that occupied my head were no longer there.


To be completely honest, the weeks before I went skydiving I was hitting a pit in my head. I decided to go skydiving to refresh myself and it was the remedy to whatever sickness I was having. My head became clear and I was able to resolve the issues I had before.


Although I have such a fear of heights, this experience was one of the best things I have ever done. The fact that I was able to do this without planning months in advance helped ease the anticipation and fear. If you are able to skydive or it is on your bucket list, I totally recommend doing it.


Let me know about your skydive experience! Do you have any questions I didn't write about, put them down below!

 
19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Segovia

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page