top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureExploradora

8 Things you Must Try in Austin, TX

Updated: May 3, 2021

Austin, Texas is filled with good eats and during my 4-day stay, I got to try many delicious drinks/food. Here are my recommendations on what you should try (in no ranked order).

1. Torchy's Tacos: I went two times and both were amazing experiences. The first was during its happy hour so I ordered this small frozen margarita for only $4. For such a hot day outside, this marg hit all the right spots. Not pictured was the delicious burrito I had. The second time, I ordered 2 tacos, the Crossroads, and the Fried Avocado along with the Hilbilly Queso and Chips. Everything again was delicious. The Fried Avocado had (FRIED AVOCADOS, REFRIED PINTO BEANS, PICO DE GALLO, LETTUCE & CHEDDAR JACK CHEESE WITH POBLANO SAUCE ON A CORN TORTILLA). The Crossroads included (SMOKED BEEF BRISKET, GRILLED ONIONS, JALAPEÑOS, CILANTRO, AVOCADO & JACK CHEESE WITH TOMATILLO SAUCE ON A CORN TORTILLA). Although I never got to the chance to try the taco food trucks on the street, these were a good option as well.

2. The Original Black's Barbeque: "If you go to Texas, you must have BBQ." This was the advice I got from my friend and boy was he right. There are many famous restaurants and food trucks that people wait hours in line for. Fortunately, I didn't have to wait hours in line at Black's but the quality was better than I ever had. Here, I ordered 1/4 lb of brisket, a ring of their jalapeno sausage, a small side of Mexican styled corn, and a side of mac n cheese. Everything was so good and although I ordered all small portions, I was stuffed by the end. The meat sweats are real.


3. Lucille: Rainey street in Austin is a street filled renovated homes that became bars. Each bar has a unique touch and has a patio/outside seating and is beautifully decorated. The one I was brought to was Lucille's and this place reminds me of the summertime. It is decorated with florals and the overall atmosphere is so calming. I ordered the house special: El Jefe Loco Margarita, a spicier rendition of the margarita and it was very tasty.

4. Drinks Lounge: 0.75 cent wings, yes, please. These teriyaki wings were a great side to the Dark Moon martini I ordered at Drinks Lounge. The martini was sweet and the teriyaki wings were sweet/savory. The combination was delightful.

Ramen is one of my favorite foods and I've had a lot of different ramens. This one has to be one of my favorites in the U.S. The pork broth of the Tonkotsu Original is very rich in flavor. The egg (ajitama), scallions, mushroom, and chashu brought a great combination of flavors together. I also ordered the corn bomb that had sweet corn with butter. It added creaminess to the entreeIf you love ramen like me and want fair pricing for it, this is your place to go to. The seating in the location I went to had big tables to share. It is a self-serving restaurant where you come in and get in line to order. You are then given a number to put in the area you choose to sit at and a server will bring your order to you.


This may be one of the best drinks I've ever had in my life. I was walking down South Congress with no plans to stop by a restaurant, but it was happy hour and I was in need of a drink to cool off from the heat. I took a seat at the bar and saw the customer next to me order the skinny dip. When I saw it, I knew I had to try it. I am so glad I did because this drink is delicious. The gas and refreshing taste of the Corona beer added lightness to the frozen margarita. The setup of the restaurant is similar to any burger joint. There is seating in the front and around the bar. In the back is where you can go and order take-out if you prefer.



7. Prohibition Creamery: What's better than booze itself? Boozy ice cream. Prohibition Creamery is the perfect place for you if this is your preferred choice of dessert. All ice cream here is created from scratch in its kitchen. If you love supporting local restaurants, this would be a place to visit. The owner is from Austin, TX and the ingredients used in all the desserts are locally sourced. When I went, I ordered the Green Fairy which had absinthe and cacao. There was no strong alcohol taste so if you're worried about the bitterness, don't be! The ice cream was so creamy and the flavor was mouth-watering. I didn't stay inside for long, but the setup inside the creamery has more of a bar-like setup rather than the usual ice cream parlor.

8. Lustre Pearl: Last but not least, the loaded tots at Lustre Pearl. When we came here, my friend's co-worker said, "I save my calories for this." referring to the fact that she was counting calories to lose weight. I thought it was a joke but I can see why she did. These loaded tots are so savory with the right amount of spice and condiments.



Austin, Texas definitely is the place to go for any foodie. Let me know where your favorite places are to eat in Austin!

 
21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page