top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureExploradora

Corrida de Torros

Updated: Jun 20, 2020

Similar to a football game, the energy that filled the Las Ventas stadium in the Plaza de Torros building was incredible. You can look around and observe the Madrilenos that often came to these events. The vibe is similar to having season tickets for a sports season. I knew that I was going to a bullfight but I didn’t really know what I was in for. We went to a Novilada- which means the bulls are less than four years old. This is not as popular to go to. My friend went twice and he said the week before when he went, there were a lot more people.

Stadium Inside

The event started out beautifully, there were “rejoneadors” on horses that came out. The horses were geared up (you will find out why later). Then, the picadors (guys that pin the bull), peones (guys that distract the bulls with the bright colored capes), and matadors in gorgeous sequined suits called suits of light “trajes de luces.” A man came to the center of the circle and turned a huge sign notifying the audience that the bullfight was about to begin. The sign listed the bull’s name, age (birthday), and how much it weighs. During the first fight, I was super light-headed and was not able to breathe. SO, beware and warning to anyone who can’t handle blood like me, you will not like this event. Here’s a little insight into what occurs during the bullfight.


The role of the picador is to literally pick the bull in the center on its back. The role of a rejoneador is to come out on its horse and use a long stick to hurt the bull in the back. I don’t know the significance of this but it is a terrible sight to witness. The worst thing about the rejoneador is that the horse it is riding is completely blind to what it is happening to them. It could possibly get stabbed or die from the bull charging at it. The horse is actually blindfolded. I am assuming because it would freak out if it saw a bull charging at it. This is why they are suited up and “protected.” Although I saw many times where the horse knocks out and falls over. I cried every time. This is such an inhumane thing. It seems like the rejoneador only comes out when the bull is heavy and weighs more. During the five that I saw, the rejoneador only came out the two times when the bulls were bigger.

Plaza de Torros building

When a bull comes out, you will see a blue ribbon where they have already been hurt. The objective of the bullfight is to kill the bull. Apparently, the longer the bull stands, it is supposed to represent how strong it is or “toro bravo” which directly translates to the brave bull. The picador comes out with two long sticks that are supposed to stab or irritate the bull. After six sticks in its back, the Matador comes out and does this “show” dancing around the bull and provoking it. They attempt to fight with them with a fake sword and then after about 15 to 20 minutes, they come to the side to trade it for the real sword. They stab it right into the blue ribbon and the bull passes away. I literally wore all black to this event because I feel so terrible for all the bulls. I came home to ask my host mom what the objective of this was and why people love it and she was also just as shocked as I am. Never again will I ever go to this event again. May all the bulls including Miserable (the first bull I saw, I cried the most witnessing that) rest in peace.


Some “fun facts.” When the crowd doesn’t like a bull, they will clap three times asking to switch out the bull. If the bull dies fairly quickly at the end and the audience thinks the Matador did a good job, they will stand up and applaud waving a white flag or handkerchief to tell the President of the bullfights to give the Matador the ear of the bull as a sign of a good job. During the five I saw, there was one Matador that received the ear. He then walked in a full circle around the arena and people threw hats down. He proceeded to throw the hats back up. I think this is similar to giving singers flowers as a sign of respect or congratulations.

Statue with quote that translates to "When a bull dies, an angel is born."

In all, I am glad I got to experience a traditional event celebrated by Madrilenos, but I can't say if there's going to be a next time.


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Segovia

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page